In Service of the people of Meghalaya since 1924  
Home The Genesis The Place The Ashram Events Feedback Activities

Events & Celebrations - 2019  .  .

Public Celebration of Sri Ramakrishna’s Advent

Ramakrishna Mission Ashrama, Sohra celebrated 184th birthday of Bhagwan Sri Sri Ramakrishna Paramhansa Deva through a public celebration where students, friends, well wishers and devotees participated with usual pomp and grandeur.

Chief Guest on the auspicious occasion was His Excellency Sri Tathagata Roy, The Honourable Governor of Meghalaya, Other Dignitaries present were, SDO, Sohra Civil Sub Division; SDPO, Sohra Civil Sub Division,Kong Biloris Lyndem, President, Managing Committee, RKM Ashrama, Sohra.

In hsi public address, he mentioned about Ramakrishna-Vivekananda Philosophy, which is the prime need of the hour for the modern day wourl. Respected SDPO, Sri B. Kharjana inaugurated the cultural programme. Respected BDO, Sri Alexander Mukhim inaugurated the distribution of Food among the students, and all the other guests present. The day's colourful programme came to a very graceful end. About 5000 participants, friends and well-wishers participated in the day's Joyful Programme and took prasad.

Shivaratri At Laittyr-a

The Shivaratri Puja was celebrated on the 04.03.2019 at Laittyr-a. Selected students of selected schools along with the teachers and some local devotees attended this puja. The participants gathered at the Mottrop at 8:45 am, from wherein the procession started to Mahadeva Temple.

Swami Paragananda, Students of Sohra, Sohbar, Shella, Mawsmai & Local Devotees sang Songs such as Pagla Bhola Nache Bom Bom Bom, Dimiki Dimiki Dimi Nache Bholanath, Hor Hor Mahadev, Hor Hor Bom Bom to the beat of Khasi Drum). The RKM school, Sohbar lead the procession followed by the Mawsmai, Shella and the Hostel Boys from the Sohra School. All the students sang the Shivaratri Songs throughout the way to the temple.

At Mahadeva Temple, the puja started at 9:15 am. Shiva Abhishekam by Monks, Devotees, Well-wishers & Students. Thereafter the students performed the following cultural activities:

Prasad was distributed to all and the campus cleaned by Sohbar School volunteers along with the staff from the Mission.

Teachers' Meet - 2019

The Academic Session of the year 2019 for all the Ramakrishna Mission Schools started on the 05th February, 2019, with the Teachers’ Conference held in the Ashram premises at Sohra. Teachers of all Ramakrishna Mission Schools attended a day long programme.

Each teacher’s data base was updated during registration process. Thereafter a brief meeting was held in Vivekananda Centenary Auditorium where the Secretary Maharaj oriented them about the Academic Calender for the year 2019-20 session and gave certain guidelines vis-à-vis the programmes to be presented by individual schools during Shivaratri Puja and the Public Celebrations of Sri Ramakrishna’s Birthday. The programme ended with the distribution of garments to teachers.



Phones : (03637) 235242    Fax : (03637)-235492   E-mail :